Laudatio given by Angela Lebedeva, President of the Jury: 2016 IBBY-Asahi Award

18 August 2016, Aotea Centre, Auckland, New Zealand

Good evening dear friends and colleagues.

It is a great honour and a pleasure for me to present the winners of the 2016 IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award to you this evening.

This Award was founded in 1986 in commemoration of the 20th IBBY Congress in Tokyo, and is made possible by sponsorship by the Asahi Shimbun Japanese newspaper company. For the last 30 years the Award has been presented to outstanding activities by groups or institutions around the world that have been judged to be making a lasting contribution to reading promotion programmes for children and young people.

For the 2016 Award we received 11 submissions from 14 IBBY National Sections: from Argentina, Brazil, Canada, China, Iran, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Denmark, France and Germany. The Jury, selected from the members of the current IBBY Executive Committee, judge every nominated project very strictly based on the following criteria:

* How well does the project support IBBY's Mission Statement?

* Is there existing or possible support for the project from other funding sources?

* Has the project been in existence for at least two years prior to its nomination? Is the project sustainable? Does it provide a framework for growth?

* What is the impact of the project? Does it reach its stated target audience?

* Is the project original and innovative?

* Can the project provide a model for others? Is it easily replicated? Are any printed materials available and are they of high literary quality?

* Can the results of the project be evaluated?

I would like to express my very special gratitude to my colleagues of the 2016 IBBY-ASAHI Reading Promotion Award Jury. Please stand up as I say your name: Evelyn Freeman (USA), Sunji Jamba (Mongolia), Vagn Plenge (Denmark), Serpil Ural (Turkey) and Timotea Vrablova (Slovakia). You worked hard and honestly to make a choice and I am proud to be a member of this fine team with you.

This Award is unique, prestigious, independent and the only international award that is supporting concrete projects in the sphere of children's reading promotion.

Today, the world is a very disturbing and changeable place and our children need protection of their rights, including the right to read, as never before. This Award represents the goal and tasks of our organization: the spirit of IBBY, connecting children and books in often very

difficult and different situations, including hot spots of military conflicts and in regions facing a huge influx of refugees.

It was a pleasure for me to announce the winners in April this year at Bologna Children's Book Fair and now it's a very special feeling and a historic moment because the winners are among us and they are waiting for me to invite to the stage and tell you in their own words about their wonderful work.

The 2016 IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award are given to the following two projects:

Read With Me, Iran and Big Brother Mouse, Laos

Read With Me was nominated by IBBY Iran and Big Brother Mouse was nominated by IBBY Switzerland and endorsed by the IBBY sections of Denmark, France and Germany.

Warm congratulations to these two winning projects and to all the people who work for them!

Many thanks to the IBBY National Sections for their nominations and I would especially like to thank again the Asahi Shimbun our generous long-time sponsor of this valuable award.

Now I am honoured to invite Ms Fusaka Go, who is the Asahi Shimbun bureau chief in Sydney and representing the Asahi Shimbun here today, to come to the stage and say a few words on behalf of the sponsor before the long-awaited presentation ceremony.

Now it with great pleasure that I would like to invite Zohreh Ghaeni and Nehzat Ghoreishi to come forward to receive the 2016 IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award on behalf of the Read With Me Project and Kamala Panyasouk and Siphone Wuttisaky to come forward to receive the 2016 IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award on behalf of the Big Brother Mouse Project.

Thank you.